One of the greatest Biblical themes is trust.  Trust in God.  Put your faith in Him.  Lean on Him.  He alone is the Great Physician.  He alone can complete you.  He alone can save you.  Yet, from the dawn of time, men have found some reason to put their faith and trust in something or someone else. 

In Joshua 11, a confederate under the King of Hazor, united to attack the young army of God.  According to Jewish historians, some 300,000 foot soldiers, 20,000 horse chariots, and 10,000 soldiers on horses came out to fight Joshua and his army.  This number is described as “much people, even as the sands that is upon the sea shore,” 11:4. 

No matter how great this opposing force seemed to be; God promised Joshua that He would deliver this opposing force into Joshua’s hands.  And commanded Joshua that they were to “hough the captive horses.”  To hough a horse simply refers to a process that lames this type of animal.  Why did God, not want Israel to have horses for war?  Because God knew in order for the nation to be saved, they had to learn to trust in Him.  Therefore, God wanted to be the wall of fire around Israel, and He wanted them to trust wholly in Him for their protection, and in all things, ultimately for their temporal and eternal salvation.  Thus, God commanded Israel not to trust in physical objects for their safety, salvation, and freedom.  Knowing if they did, then they just would start to think too highly of themselves, or of their possessions, and turn from the source of all strength, the great I Am.    

David said in Psalms 20:7, “Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the Lord our God.”  And today, many trust in: money, possessions, power, fame, fortune, pride, self-help books, vices, stock market, political parties and more.  Yet, the reality is, there is one Great Physician.  There is one Savior.  There is one Lord.  And He and only Him can and will save today.  So, “Hough your horses,” and lean on Him! 

Please consider these verses about trusting in God:

2 Samuel 7:28 And now, O Lord God, you are God, and your words are true, and you have promised this good thing to your servant.

Psalms 13:5 But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.

Psalms 25:1-3 1 To you, O Lord, I lift up my soul. 2 O my God, in you I trust; let me not be put to shame; let not my enemies exult over me. 3 Indeed, none who wait for you shall be put to shame; they shall be ashamed who are wantonly treacherous.

Psalms 31:14 But I trust in you, O Lord; I say, “You are my God.”

Psalms 52:8 But I am like a green olive tree in the house of God. I trust in the steadfast love of God forever and ever.

Psalms 118:8 It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in man.

Isaiah 2:22 Stop regarding man in whose nostrils is breath, for of what account is he?

Isaiah 12:2 “Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and will not be afraid; for the Lord God is my strength and my song, and he has become my salvation.”

John 14:1 “Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me.

Romans 9:33 as it is written, “Behold, I am laying in Zion a stone of stumbling, and a rock of offense; and whoever believes in him will not be put to shame.”

